Jerry G. Gaff Faculty Awards

for General and Liberal Studies


These awards honor Jerry G. Gaff, respected member of the AGLS, retired Senior Scholar at the Association of American Colleges and Universities (AAC&U), and influential advocate for faculty leadership of general and liberal education. Gaff, who received a Ph.D. in psychology from Syracuse University, served on the faculties of five institutions and was dean of the College of Liberal Arts and acting president at Hamline University. He also served as Vice President of AAC&U and directed its Preparing Future Faculty Program. He has authored numerous influential books including Strong Foundations: Twelve Principles of Effective General Education Programs, Toward Faculty Renewal, General Education Today, New Life for the College Curriculum, and Handbook of the Undergraduate Curriculum.

Since 2002, the AGLS has given one Gaff award each year to recognize faculty who have demonstrated leadership on their campuses, shown evidence of outstanding teaching in general and liberal education courses, and have a record of achievement in curriculum development, innovation, or implementation. In 2017, the AGLS board voted to offer multiple Gaff awards to celebrate the distinctive roles essential for strong programs and encourage the next generation of leaders in general and liberal studies.

There are two categories that may be awarded each year: 
1. Emerging Campus Leader is a full-time, instructional faculty who has demonstrated significant campus-wide leadership in the areas of general education and liberal studies curriculum reform, revision, implementation, assessment, or administration.

2. Outstanding Teacher is a full-time, instructional faculty who has a significant record of outstanding teaching and/or course development in general education programs, core curricula, or liberal studies.

The deadline for nominations for the 2019 awards is Tuesday, April 30.  The award(s) will be presented at the September meeting in Orlando, Florida.

Read more about Dr. Gaff here.

Nomination Guideline Now Available

Submit Nominations HERE

Previous Recipients of the
Jerry G. Gaff Faculty Award for
Excellence in General and Liberal Education
2017 Julia 'Cory' Lock
   St. Edward's University

2016 Larry R. Peterson
   North Dakota State University

2015 Margaret Oakes
   Furman University

2014 no award given
2013 Amy Stackhouse
   Iona College

2012 Norm Jones
   Utah State University

2011 Joan Hawthorne
   University of North Dakota

2010 David Gowler
   Oxford College of Emory University

2009 Margaret Martin
   Eastern Connecticut State University
Daniel Silvermintz
   University of Houston, Clear Lake

2008 no award given
2007 no award given
2006 no award given
2005 Edward Katz
   University of North Carolina at Asheville

2004 no award given
2003 Tony Edmonds
   Ball State University
John Habel
   Western Carolina University, Cullowhee

2002 Mary Dickerson
   Broome Community College
Fred Albertson
   University of Memphis
Gail Schiffer
   Kennesaw State University

This Page Updated December 12, 2018